State of the Runner

07Jan09

Every year, our president has the responsibility of getting up in front of the nation and telling us where we’re at and where we’re going. It’s an opportunity to face up to fears, take a clear eyed look at solutions and lay out a path for progress. For the most part, I’ve never really listened to these. While I like the idea of them, I’d rather read about what the Prez had to say than to actually sit there and listen to him. Reading’s faster, I have more control over the material.

 

Anyway, this is the state of my running body. Over the holidays, I’ve gained eleven pounds, the Morton’s Neuroma in my right foot has not improved and during a recent workout, my back went out and I’ve been managing some pretty decent pain with that over the past week or so. A massage last night helped a little bit and I think I can actually get my mind around what it will be like to not have the chronic crankiness in me that always accompanies my back issues. But for now, it still hurts.

 

So, that’s what’s working against me physically. Not an ideal set-up but certainly nothing that can’t be dealt with. For the weight gain, I started back on my regular diet a couple of days ago and I have no doubt the pounds will make like disco and eventually go away. As if I needed added incentive, I tried to get on a pair of pants I bought in France this summer and was humbly reminded that you can’t eat like John Madden and dress like Anderson Cooper.

 

The foot thing just sucks but it is what it is. From what I’ve read about, there’s not much damage you can do once it gets inflamed. I can do more in terms of icing and I’m staying off the track until April, hopefully that will make a bit of difference. As for the back, I’ve gotten away from doing some of the preventive stuff I was doing there and I should have used a little better judgment on the day that I hurt it. Holiday stress, home improvement and a whole bunch of “cleans” were a tidy recipe for misery. I ate it up.

 

Consistency is what I want to focus on in the next couple of months. In the past, I’ve been really good about getting my workouts done but I’ve also been working with a coach during the winter months. Now, with no one to answer to, I’m going to have a battle getting my ass out the door at 4:45am. This morning we had an ice storm going on so I passed on the workout thinking I’d get it done tonight but works gone long and I don’t really see it happening.

 

One thing that is really hard to refute, on those days when I just get up and get it done first thing, everything just seems to go better. Mark it down, no matter what, tomorrow morning I’m getting my workout in before anything else takes hold of my time or attention. Cause working out is “my time” and once I’ve had it, I’m available for whoever and whatever else needs me.

I’m going to win the Masters Division at the Nipmuck in June. I’ll do it largely on my preparations during these cold months. Not fun, but totally worth it.

No Responses Yet to “State of the Runner”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

