Start Again

23Jun09

For the first time in 5 years, I won’t be heading overseas to write about the Tour de France. The CBS show I used to work on has gone away to be replaced by one that will be done by Versus and air for one hour on only the last Sunday of the Tour. As disappointing as this is for me, I am grateful to have been asked to write elements for Versus from here at home.

5:15am outside of Hybrid Athletics. Time to pick up the strength training.

5:15am outside of Hybrid Athletics. Time to pick up the strength training.

While the race in question remains the same, the way to tell it and the people doing so has changed. My challenge as a writer is to find a level of simpatico with the decision makers that exceeds their expectation and satisfies my hunger to bring the clearest, most exciting insight to the Tour possible. For me, anyway, this is not easy work.

As we hammer our way through the creative process, with my new group we have plenty of awkward moments, conversations that strain to remain civil and ideas and opinions that work at cross purposes. In the end, it will all be for the better. The work will not be exactly as I would have it and that’s okay.

It’s been two weeks since I finished the Nipmuck and I have drifted a bit. In the early morning, I wake up, wide awake, hours before the alarm will ring. I’ve eaten in volume, denied myself little. My training has followed my whim, no program, as yet I have no goals. This is all okay, I’ll get there, I always do.

Just like my day job, my running sometimes goes through a little “feeling out” process. It’s humbling and beneficial to spend some time unfocused, not operating at full tilt. Going down roads that end up nowhere, turning around and trying a different way. In the end, I’ll get started towards something. My writing will get where it needs to be and my running will make sense again, have purpose and a destination.

Starting over is a hard business but giving myself the opportunity to do it is what makes me stronger. It pushes my skill set, taps new parts of my brain and keeps my body alive.

One Response to “Start Again”

  1. 1 JayMurph

    jim last night i did the route you showed me from wompy parking lot to turkey hill. a little slick, but it was great. what a fun loop. thanks.


Leave a Reply

