Lost

20Apr10

Sweet, new Salomon Speedcross shoes!

This past Wednesday, I went to a park, I hardly knew at all and ran for 80 minutes. Occasionally, I’d find a map nailed to a tree and figure out where I was and where I could go. The park is about 650 acres and I suppose I could’ve gotten really lost and if I’d gotten hurt, it would’ve been a long afternoon getting out but it all ended well.

The trails were really dry, there was a lot of climbing and the girls just went crazy with their time in the warm, spring woods. I felt pretty good myself. It’s been a long time since I could write that but I did. My groin pull turned out to be iliosoas tendonitis and once I got that figured out, getting better happened really quick. Feeling better got me running more and more running got me thinking about getting back to this space.

My injury was kind of like running some place you’ve never been before. It’s easy to get lost but its also possible to get where you need to go if you just hang on to what you know and keep looking for helpful signs. Way too early in my injury, I assumed I’d pulled my groin. I stopped looking for answers and started stretching and resting. In most cases, these are good options but when the injury didn’t come around, I had to start looking harder.

An Imelda Marcos like love for footwear.

Massage therapists, chiropractors and a physical therapist all had different ideas about what was going on but in the end, it was a video on YouTube that got me to the right diagnosis. God love the internet.

My running isn’t the only thing that’s changed a bit in the past couple of months. After three years, I wrapped things up at NBC Olympics. A little bittersweet to walk out those doors for the last time. It’s time for me to move on to something else. I’ve started my own business, I’ll keep my hand in sports when I can but I’d really like to bring my skills to some new content. For now, I’m targeting education and non-profs. Hopefully, I can get some kind of show put together as well.

So, I’m back. Last week, I ran for 90 on Sunday, the aforementioned 80 on Wednesday and then 90 again on Saturday. In between, I did some shorter runs and hammered on the bike yesterday. It’s good. I feel strong and I’m looking for a couple of racing goals to take on this fall.

And they feel so damn good on.

I’ll probably spend my life lost in the woods, metaphorically or otherwise. It’s good to sometimes come back to what you know, it helps you figure out where it is you want to go.

6 Responses to “Lost”

  1. 1 JayMurph

    Damn it’s good to have you back pal.

    • 2 jthompson31

      Jay,
      It’s good to be back. How are you and did you run Boston? Was thinking of you earlier this week.

      • 3 JayMurph

        i ran – email me. i only have your NBC email.

  2. 4 jthompson31

    Jay,
    Can’t find your email. Hit me at jim@jimthompsonproductions.net

  3. love it. come get lost with me in the Lincoln woods someday…
    I run slow.


Leave a Reply

