Trust the Process

Two nights before Thanksgiving, my wife and I woke up to a large whooshing sound close by our bedroom window. It was in the middle of a rainstorm with significant wind. I padded over to the nearest window and in the dark, was able to make out a mangled mass of tree that had blown into our sidelawn. At 3am, there wasn’t much to do. I got back in bed resolving to address the situation in the morning.

I was coming off a ten day work week with 12 hour shifts and two cross country flights. With 16 people coming for Thanksgiving dinner there was a lot to do. When the morning light revealed hours of clean up with the fallen half tree, I realized my “holiday” was going to mean a whole lot of work. Assessing the tree situation, I figured I could handle it myself with some lops, a chainsaw and a hearty helping of physical labor. Though the situation looked catastrophic, overwhelming even, it would simplify and resolve with patience, doggedness and process.

“Process” has never been a word/idea that resonates much with me. I’ve been saddled with a mindset that basically leans towards submission if positive returns are not quickly realized. I’m an immediate gratification guy and am besotted with early success. However, I’ve hit a point in this life, where I need to change this mindset. Big changes are coming in the next year and direction and purpose are not clear. I need to make some decisions that require a lot of consideration: process is an essential part of the equation.

Physical pursuits in recent years have given me some positive experience with process. As a bike rider, I really sucked in the beginning and still do to some degree. While running and the attendant race results came easy, on the bike I’ve been thoroughly mediocre for years. Still, I follow training plans, mind my nutrition and scour YouTube for any insight that might make me faster. On practically a daily basis I try to get better though the task at (almost) 58 sometimes seems insurmountable. I trust the process. Some days, I have proof I’m getting better.

I don’t know where all the rumination around the big questions in my life will take me. I just know that like the tree by the side of my house, a solution will only come after some hard work. I’ve been at it for a while and just like limbing that big ass tree, it’s making me tired. Occasionally, it hurts and it’s frustrating. But, there’s a big stack of branches and logs in my brush pile this morning and we pulled off Thanksgiving without a hitch. Similarly, some day, I’ll be beyond the big questions and able to get on with the fun part of Phase 2.

Published by

jthompson31

Forty something with kids and a happy wife. Not much material wealth but many rich, rich, rich. Love to run. Love to ride. Would rather be in the woods.

One thought on “Trust the Process”

  1. Cutting up a tree is hard work. The thinking and doing of big life changes are even harder, but worth the effort. Keep going, my friend.

    P.S. When’s the bonfire?

Leave a comment